Find a Lawyer by Practice
Find a Lawyer by Location
Back to Main Categories
Compared to other states, Lyft and Uber car accidents in New Jersey have very different legal requirements. The company itself can provide some liability coverage for you if you’ve been hurt in a rideshare accident, but you need to know the right way to pursue them.
Kathleen M. Reilly is a personal injury attorney based in Kearny, New Jersey with over 30 years of experience. She is the managing partner of Brady Brady & Reilly, LLC. In this video, she explains what to do after a New Jersey Uber or Lyft car accident.
Contact her directly by calling 888-981-0027 or by submitting a contact form on this page. There is no fee for the consultation, and you owe no attorney fees if your case is unsuccessful.
This act was signed into law in May 2018. It was designed to protect New Jersey residents when using rideshares. It provides for different levels of insurances for those involved in rideshare accidents.
The act requires Uber and Lyft to make certain that vehicles using their rideshare app at any given time have certain levels of insurance depending upon the portion of the ride in place.
Generally, if you are riding an Uber or Lyft and another car hits you, that driver is liable for damages. However, the rideshare companies also provide uninsured underinsured coverage up to $1.5 million. That means if your Uber or Lyft hit by uninsured/underinsured driver, then as a passenger, you could turn to Uber or Lyft and make a claim for uninsured motorist coverage.
If you’re injured in an accident where the Uber of Lyft driver was responsible, they have liability insurance of $1.5 million per accident. This applies if you are the passenger in a rideshare or if you are hit by a rideshare vehicle.
Liability can depend on whether or not someone is acting as a Lyft or Uber driver when the accident occurs.
If the driver is signed into the app but no one else is in the vehicle, Uber and Lyft will provide $50,000 in liability coverage.
If they have engaged the app (i.e. someone requested a ride and they are going to pick someone up) Uber or Lyft will provide up to $1.5 million in liability coverage.
Possibly. Uber and Lyft are expected to perform some level of investigation into their drivers. You cannot have major crime convictions on your record. However, Uber and Lyft may not go far enough when vetting their drivers. They do not perform fingerprint checks for their drivers.
These companies have an obligation to ensure the safety of their passengers. If someone is the victim of a crime committed by an Uber or Lyft driver, the victim could have a valid claim against the rideshare company.
Don’t simply ask the driver, “Are you here for [your name]?” Verify that their license plate matches the one listed in the app.
When you get in the car, ask them “Who are you here to pick up?”
The apps also have emergency provisions if you need to report a dangerous situation. Make sure your phone is charged, and you know how to use all the app’s functions.
Compared to “normal” car accidents, the law changes if your accident involves a rideshare vehicle. If your car insurance has medical payments coverage, that will cover some of your medical bills. However, this may not cover all of it. Your health insurance will not apply since your car insurance is supposed to cover car accident-related damages.
An attorney can help refer you to a doctor who understands the system and how billing works. They can help you cover these costs while the case is in progress.
To learn more, contact Kathleen Reilly directly by calling 888-981-0027 or by submitting a contact form on this page. There is no fee for the consultation, and you owe no attorney fees if your case is unsuccessful.
Disclaimer: This video is for informational purposes only. In some states, this video may be deemed Attorney Advertising. The choice of lawyer is an important decision that should not be based solely on advertisements.
has been sent!